The Trap

The Trap

eBook - 2016
Average Rating:
Rate this:
5
A twisted debut thriller "for fans of Paula Hawkins and Gillian Flynn" ( Booklist ) about a reclusive author who sets the perfect trap for her sister's murderer--but is he really the killer?

The renowned author Linda Conrads is famous for more than just her bestselling novels. For over eleven years, she has mystified fans by never setting foot outside her home. Far-fetched, sometimes sinister rumors surround the shut-in writer, but they pale in comparison to the chilling truth: Linda is haunted by the unsolved murder of her younger sister, whom she discovered in a pool of blood twelve years ago, and by the face of the man she saw fleeing the scene.

Now plagued by panic attacks, Linda copes with debilitating anxiety by secluding herself in her house, her last safe haven. But the sanctity of this refuge is shattered when her sister's murderer appears again--this time on her television screen. Empowered with sudden knowledge but hobbled by years of isolation, Linda resolves to use her only means of communication with the outside world--the plot of her next novel--to lay an irresistible trap for the man.

But as the plan is set in motion and the past comes rushing back, Linda's memories of that traumatic night--and her very sanity--are called into question. Is this man really a heartless killer or merely a helpless victim?

*Includes Reading Group Guide*
Publisher: Toronto : House of Anansi Press, 2016
ISBN: 9781455592913
1455592919
9783641136963
3641136962
9781487000783
1487000782
Branch Call Number: PT2718.A15
Characteristics: 1 downloadable text file
Additional Contributors: Taylor, Imogen (Translator),- Translator

Related Resources


Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

d
daysleeper236
Dec 13, 2017

A fantastic thriller, on par with The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. Highly recommended.

b
brangwinn
Feb 05, 2017

A psychological thriller about a woman who is sure she has found her sister’s murderer many years later kept me reading way past my bedtime. Linda, the narrator, is totally unreliable. She’s become a recluse since her sister died. She won’t leave the house, at times she will watch her gardener from the window. But she hires a housekeeper to do her shopping and take the dog out for a run. Everyone she needs comes to her house, including her publishing agent. She’s cut off ties with her parents, even. She writes a novel about her sister’s murder in order to entice the well-known reporter to her home for an interview. As the interview proceeds, Raabe has deftly created a storyline which is designed to confuse and scare the reader. Linda is so unreliable in her narration of what happened to her sister, the reader begins to think Linda killed her. It’s almost the last page before you discover the truth.

a
AuntJoan
Sep 19, 2016

I liked this book. There was a plot twist, sort of...and for a first book I thought it was fine.

KateHillier Aug 26, 2016

It's a very claustrophobic book, which is appropriate considering our main character hasn't set foot outside in quite some time. Adding into that is the trauma and horror of seeing the man who murdered her sister for the first time since the murder. Our heroine, an author, decides to set a trap. There is care and effort put into it and it seems perfect. Famous last words.

It's a quick read, keeps you engaged, but the ending falls a little flat for me.

s
Sansha
Jul 20, 2016

Psychological thriller translated from German.
A different take on an unsolved murder.

Age

Add Age Suitability

There are no ages for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at MBLN

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top